Sprache deutsch Cabo Verde, Cape Verde - Islands of the Atlantic ocean

Cape Verde

Cape Verde

More than 450 kilometers of the west coast of Africa is in the Atlantic ocean the island nation Cape Verde. Ten islands of the island group are inhabited. The islands are divided into northern and southern island. The islands in the north are the islands of the wind (Barlavento): Santo Antao, Sao Vicente, Santa Luzia, Sao Nicolau, Sal and Boa Vista. The islands in the south are the islands under the wind (Sotavento): Maio, Santiago, Fogo and Brava.

Cape Verde was discovered in 1456 by Portuguese sailors. The islands were inhabited not yet at that time. The present population is a multicultural society of Europeans and Africans. The capital of Cape Verde is Praia on the island of Santiago. Praia now has more than 130000 inhabitants. The national language is Portuguese, in many cases, Creole language dialects are spoken by the inhabitants of African origin.

Sal, Cape Verde Prevails at the Cape Verde Islands have a very dry, desert-like climate by the influence of sun and strong trade winds. Strong winds and high waves make the Cape Verde Islands to a good surfing area and attract many surfers from all over the world. The sea water temperatures to 27 degrees make the beaches of the Cape Verde islands to a popular destination for tourism and sport.

Copyright www.kapver.de - All rights reserved